Øystein Bråten
Full name: Øystein Bråten
Date of birth: 21 July 1995
Nationality: Norway
Home town: Torpo
Height / weight: 179 cm / 73 kg
Started riding: At 9 years of age.
Local spot: Ski resorts in Hallingdal.
Favorite spot: Folgefonna, Norway.
Magic skis: Volkl Wall 177. Favorite ski for the last 7 years.
Favorite trick: Cork 360.
Favorite event: X Games Aspen.
Heroes: Andreas Håtveit, Candide Thovex, Sammy Carlson, Kim Boberg.

I got my first pair of twintip skis when I was 10 years old and got hooked. I looked up to the older guys at my ski hill and wanted to be just as cool as them. I watched all the ski movies endless times and started to learn small tricks together with friends. I got my big break through when I got second place at Dew Tour in 2014. In the 2015/16 season I won the slopestyle world tour. Now I travel the world competing and filming with my best friends and I could not have asked for a better life. I try to enjoy every day riding and having as much fun as possible.


When and how did you start skiing? I started skiing when I was around 4-5 years old. I just went to my local ski resort with my family or we rode in our backyard. Some years later when I was 10 I got my first pair of twintip skis for christmas and after that I was hooked.

When did you decide to become a pro? I have always wanted to get really good at skiing. When I started riding twintip I looked up to the big guys who did it for a living and wanted to be like them.

What makes you unreasonable? I always try to push myself and come up with tricks that can impress people.

What has been a highlight in your career? The highlight of my career should be my 3rd place at X Games Aspen 2016. I’ve always watched that event and dreamed of being in it one day. Getting a medal was just crazy.

What are your plans for the future? My plan for the future is to keep pushing myself and get better at skiing every day. I want to perform well in both contests and on film.

Name 10 things you never travel without? Phone, Mac, Camera, Headsets, RedBull hat, Passport, Watch, Foam roller, Skateboard, Running shoes.

What motivates you to get out of bed in the morning? To accomplish new things and have fun!

If we visited you at breakfast, what would you be eating? Probably some oatmeal and a glass of orange juice.

If you weren’t skiing, what would you do? I would probably play more tennis or skateboard more.

Any other sports you’re good at? I play a lot of tennis in summer. And I also skateboard.

What music are you listening to? Mostly HipHop and Rap music.

How does your training routine look like? I try to ski every day, usually 4-6 hours. When I get home from the hill I try to do another activity to recover faster. I either go to the gym, go skate or do something else fun with friends.

Describe your perfect day? My perfect day is to wake up early and eat a good breakfast. I drive up to Fonna ski resort and have a blast riding in the sun with good friends. After shredding for 5 hours we head down to the lake and have a nice barbecue, then finish off the day with some skateboarding.


Follow Øystein

Øystein Bråten's Favorites