Tom Cloarec
Full name: Tom Cloarec
AKA: Tomich
Date of birth: 7 January 1994
Nationality: French
Home town: Hossegor, France
Height / weight: 1,77 m / 70 kg
Started surfing: 2 years old
Stance: Goofy
Favorite spot: Les Culs nus / Backdoor
Local spot: Les Landes
Surfboards: 5'10 18'5 2'3 Sharpeyes Surfboards
Favorite trick: Barrels
Favorite event: Lacanau Pro
Heroes: Taj Burrow

I was born on January 7th 1994, on a cold day in Auray, a small town in the southern part of Bretagne in the Morbihan. I started surfing with my parents and my little brother in St. Barbe, Bretagne at about 2 years of age. At the age of 8, I began to compete in regional contests and I liked it a lot so I decided to continue!

July 2006 ... important date! Arrival in Hossegor. This superb family decision to go to the "mecca" of French surfing was the start of a new exciting life. At 12, I only had one goal in mind, develop my surfing skills to the next level!

In 2008 (I was 14 years old), I joined the French Team, my greatest joy! First selected for the World Championships as a replacement, I was then, in November 2008, selected for the European Championships in my category (-14 years). It was a great experience, very motivating for the future. That same year, I also had the chance to start the European Pro Junior Tour (U21), my first step in the "small" professional surfing world!

2010 ... unforgettable year! I was 16, I felt good about my surfing as I won the qualification for the World Pro Junior (U21) Championships in Bali and Australia, finishing 4th at the European Pro Junior. The challenge of this global event was a rewarding experience because it allowed me to realize the current level of international surf and gave me even more motivation to take my surfing to the next level. I then won my first Pro junior event when I was 19 in Royan, France. This victory gave me a lot of confidence for the rest of the year. All my hard work was starting to pay off.

One year later, for my last year on the junior tour, I won one on my best contests of my life, the Lacanau Pro junior!! I was so stoked, I was very happy to make the 1st place on my last year which helped me a lot to end up 2nd on the European juniors ranking. I qualified for the World junior Championship in Ericeira, and finished 9th, my best result so far in the World junior tour.

This year is my first real year on the WQS, so I need to train and practice more to be ready for each heat and each event because the level is high. I also need to go to some small events to get some points to be able to compete on Prime events. I also do some trips and clips with my brother to show our surf and personality to the world!

Interview

When and how did you start doing your sport? At just 2 years of age, I spent my day between dunes and beaches. My parents made me discover and respect the ocean. Slowly, day after day, my first experiences with the breaks were especially intense and magical.

When did you decide to become a pro? At the age of 8, I started competing on a few little contests, and I got the surfing fever! At around 16 years old, I was competing on the Junior tour and I did some good results so I decided to focus all my energy towards my surfing career.

How did you become a part of O’Neill? When I was 15, my brother and I surfed without a major sponsor, but we had the opportunity to meet the O'Neill manager for France and we quickly were on the French O’Neill team! I'm very happy to be part of the team and to represent O'Neill all over the world.

What makes you unreasonable? When I'm looking at the forecast for the next days and it looks perfect for Hossegor, together with my brothers, we start to prepare everything on the jet ski to get some big barrels. Breaking boards, getting smashed with the jet ski... Best times, what else?

What has been a highlight in your career? I won the European title when I was 18 in Lacanau, against my brother and Vasco Ribeiro. I won with a 9,27 and a 9,80 on my last heat. It was the best heat of my life!

What are your plans for the future? I would like to continue surfing professionally as long as possible by going on more trips and contests. And after that, I would like to try to help the new surfing generation with my experience.

Name 10 things you never travel without? Passport, credit card, IPhone, Mac, watch, picture of my girlfriend, boards, leash, wax, fins.

What motivates you to get out of bed in the morning? Big barrels!!

If we visited you at breakfast, what would you be eating? I like to eat muesli with almond milk.

If you weren't surfing what would you do? I think I would be in school studying to try to find a job I loved.

Any other sports you are good at? I like to practice Yoga when I'm not surfing.

What music are you listening to? I like to listen to ACDC before surf as it gives me a lot of motivation and energy especially when the waves are bad.

What has been the scariest moment in your sport career? Two years ago, I was 1st on the European ranking, and on the 2nd junior stop I broke my big toe during a heat... I was totally disappointed, I missed 2 contests and it was hard to get my confidence back. Finally, I finished 4th at the end of the season and still qualified for the World juniors.

What was your most embarrassing moment in your career/life? This year in Martinique for the WQS, I lost my heat at the last second. I was so disappointed to lose a heat with total score of 14. I got out of the water and a reporter came to me for an interview and told me « It’s a great day for you, you surfed really well, how are you feeling for your next heat tomorrow?”. I was a bit confused so I replied that I was sorry because I just had lost my heat at the last second. The guy was really embarrassed when he realized he had just said something completely wrong! It was amusing to watch!

How does your training routine look like? I try to surf everyday even if the waves are not really good. I'm doing a bit of cross-fit training and yoga to be ready for my upcoming contests and big swells!

Describe your perfect day? Waking up early, eating my bowl of cereal. Waking up my little bro who's still sleeping! Going to check some different spots to find the best one, and surf all morning. After the big surf, going to the Market in Capbreton to eat crêpes at our parents place, the best crêpes in the area. Going for another long surf session in the afternoon on perfect lefts, in “Les Culs nus”. And to finish this good day, visiting my girlfriend and my friends to drink a beer at the Café de Paris in Hossegor while watching the sunset!

Tom's Favorites