Caroline Djupsjö
Full name: Caroline Djupsjö
AKA: Carro
Date of birth: 15 April 1991
Nationality: Swedish
Home town: Stockholm
Height / weight: 165 cm / 62 kg
Started riding: 2005
Stance: Regular
Local spot: The Cable Park, Stockholm
Favorite spot: Austin, TX / Anthem Wakepark Thailand/ CWC Philippines
Favorite board: 137 Slingshot pearl
Favorite trick: Any wrapped spins by Derek cook or Josh Twelker
Favorite event: The World Cup series
Heroes: My dad, brother sisters and mother, all in their own way.

The summer I turned thirteen I spent every minute riding with my friends at the local waterski club in the freezing water of Sweden. I learned my first invert with my dad as he was the only one who had enough patience to drive the boat. It took me endless tries, crashes, filling my wetsuit up with warm water and headaches but the moment when I landed my first backroll I discovered the warm and amazing adrenaline rush wakeboarding can give you. I’ve been chasing that feeling ever since.

Now, thanks to my sponsors and the Swedish Wakeboard Federation, I get to travel the world doing what I love!


When and how did you start wakeboarding? I started riding in 2005 when my dad thought he’d book a weekend at a wakeboarding camp for both of us. I’ve been hooked ever since.

When did you decide to become a pro? After graduating school in 2010 I decided to try and make it into the wakeboarding world and about two years later I was happy to have enough support from sponsors to wakeboard full time.

What makes you unreasonable? I guess never giving up. Once I’ve set my mind on something I will try again and again until I succeed. Most people watched me try to land my first double flip and get completely wrecked doing so. I even got a couple of ”it’s not worth it Carro, you should just leave it” but I had set my mind on it and after a rough three weeks of waking up with a knot in my stomach every day, I finally got it.

What has been a highlight in your career? Winning the female trick of the year for 2015 is the achievement I’m most proud of to date and it made all those crashes I just mentioned feel a really worth it.

What are your plans for the future? I want to keep improving my riding in all aspects of wakeboarding, whether it’s at the cable or behind the boat, contests or video parts, there is so much left to explore!

Name 10 things you never travel without? My phone, board, toothbrush, yoga mat, GoPro, headphones, running trainers, mascara, a warm hoodie and emergency snacks.

What motivates you to get out of bed in the morning? Anything! Mornings are my favorite time of the day.

If we visited you at breakfast, what would you be eating? A LOT! I love eating breakfast, normally fresh fruit, yoghurt and granola with a glass of beetroot juice and a huge cup of coffee.

If you weren’t wakeboarding, what would you do? All my other hobbies of course! I’d have more time for surfing, snowboarding, spending time with my friends and I’d probably try to run my own business of some sort.

Any other sports you’re good at? Not sure I’m good at them but I absolutely love trying other board-sports like surfing and snowboarding!

What music are you listening to? At the moment a lot of soft house mixed with female hip hop artists and of course Beyonce’s new album. I love music so it changes a lot from week to week.

What has been the scariest moment in your sport career? My first ever international contest, the junior European Championships 2008. All the riders I was facing were so cool and intimidating. I wanted nothing more than to be their friend and ride as good as them! Surprisingly I ended up winning that contest and making a ton of new friends but that first day on the starting dock, I was so nervous I thought I was going to throw up!

What was your most embarrassing moment in your career/life? When I was 12 I was a competitive swimmer and during one contest I felt like I was swimming way faster than everyone else! I hit the finish line with a huge grin on my face as I obviously just won the race only to have my coach look at me with exasperation and say ”You swam the wrong stroke Carro”. That resulted in the whole team getting disqualified and I’ve never been more embarrassed in my life!

How does your training routine look like? I like to get as much time on the water as possible, since that’s the best way to improve my riding but I also spend some time in the gym and running to keep strong and prevent injuries.

Describe your perfect day? Wake up early and go for some morning yoga. Then breakfast and coffee while checking some emails before heading wakeboarding either at the park or on the boat. Back in for lunch before going out to play in the (small) surf and finishing up at night by cooking dinner with my friends or family.

Caro's Favorites