Sabrina Cakmakli
Full name: Sabrina Cakmakli
AKA: Sabi, Sabrah
Date of birth: 25.11.1994
Nationality: German
Home town: Garmisch Partenkirchen
Local spot: Ehrwald
Height / weight: 172cm/ 58 kg
Started Skiing: 2 years old
Favorite spot: Laax
Favorite trick: Switch 720
Favorite event: Dew tour, Nine Queens
Heroes: Sarah Burke, Kaya Turski


When and how did you start doing your sport? Well I started skiing when I was two years old but switched to snowboarding when I was 7 till I got my first Twintips when I was 15 and that's pretty much when I started freeskiing.

When did you decide to become a pro? When I started freeskiing I always dreamed of being one of the bests one day especially while watching comps like X Games. I guess when I qualified for the Olympics 2014 in Sochi that's for sure when things changed for me. Since then I get to ski all year around and I can make a living out of it which I'm so thankful for.

How did you become a part of O’Neill?I think it happened right after the very first Nine Queens event, where O'Neill has been one of the main sponsors. O'Neill has been by my side since the very beginning and I'm so proud to be already part of the team for around 6 years now.

What has been a highlight in your career?I guess my highlights were for sure the Olympic Games in Sochi and South Korea as well as my very first World Cup podium in Park City in 2015. Also getting to compete at X Games this year has been a dream come true.

What are your plans for the future? I definitely want to keep going with Halfpipe skiing. I'm having the most fun doing it and I'm beyond excited to keep pushing myself and progress my skiing. Eyes are for sure on Worldchamps next year and the Olympics in four years.

Name 10 things you never travel without?iPhone, Credit card, O’Neill Outerwear, Headphones, iPad, black roll, good vibes, GoPro, lip balm.

What motivates you to get out of bed in the morning?The passion and love I have for skiing gets me out of bed every morning pretty easily. Nothing beats being out there in the mountains skiing with my friends.

If we visited you at breakfast, what would you be eating? I'd probably be eating porridge and cereals with plenty of fruits and most important my coffee in the morning ;-)

If you weren't skiing what would you do?If I'm not skiing, you'll probably find me in the gym, in the mountains hiking or biking or at work. I'll work in a restaurant every now and then when I'm home.

Any other sports you are good at?I used to play football when I was younger but I also love to do any other kind of sport. I just love being active.

What has been the scariest moment in your sport career? I can't really think of a specific scary moment in my career since there's often a few scary moments on a basic ski day for me. In general I would say doing new tricks for the very first time and doing tricks again, that I got hurt on before are the most scary moments for me.

Describe your perfect day?For me my perfect day starts with some skiing together with all of my friends up in Laax or in a nicely shaped Halfpipe in spring conditions following with a cozy afternoon by the lake maybe even go for a swim and ending with a nice BBQ, sausages and a good cold German beer :)

Follow Sabrina


Sabrina's Favorites